Identification Technology Technical Committee (ITTC)

The Identification Technology Technical Committee (ITTC) develops Singapore Standards, and participates in international activities related to identification technology. These technologies cover a wide area, ranging from biometrics, contactless smart cards, vicinity cards, driver's licences, and machine readable travel documents. The standards will facilitate the development of efficient and interoperable identification solutions in a multi-vendor and multi-application environment.

TC composition and structure

ITTC has the following main composition:

TC Chairman

Mr Lin Yih
Digital Applied Research and Technology Pte Ltd

Deputy TC Chairmen

Mr Lawrence Chen Tai Pang
Senior Research Engineer
Institute for Infocomm Research

Mr Kelvin Lim
Senior Manager, System Development (EPIC)
Land Transport Authority

International Standards Participation

The TC represents Singapore as a ‘Participating’ or ‘P’ member of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC17 on ‘Cards and Security Devices for Personal Identification’, and ISO/IEC JTC1/SC37 on ‘Biometrics’. Singapore is also the Convenor of ISO/IEC JTC1/SC17/WG11 on ‘Application of biometrics to cards and personal identification’.

* P-members participate actively in the work and have an obligation to vote on all questions submitted to vote within the technical committee.

Singapore Standards Under CPITC

Singapore Standard SS 467: 
2002 (2012)

Specification for Smart Card Reader Application Program Interface (API)

Singapore Standard SS 468: 
1999 (2012)

Specification for Stored Value Card Application

Singapore Standard SS 518: 

Specification for Contactless E-Purse Application

Singapore Standard SS 529: 

Specification for Smart Card ID