Q1. How often are the Awards given out?

A1. The Awards occur biennially (once every two years).

Q2. What will winners stand to gain from this Award? Does being nominated or winning the Awards entitle the participating company to any subsidies or support from IDA for further development and implementation?

A2. Apart from the hand-sculpted trophy, the National Infocomm Awards recognition will help establish a brand name for the winners both locally and in overseas markets. The Award winners will also be perceived as infocomm thought leaders who can inspire other industry players to pursue the world-class benchmark they have set.

Award winners will be allowed to include the National Infocomm Awards logo in their publicity and marketing materials, subject to the organiser's terms and conditions.

Q3. Will past participants/winners of the National Infocomm Awards be eligible to participate in the 2016 Awards?

A3. All companies or organisations that are registered in Singapore, either in the public or private sector, are eligible for the Awards. This is so long as they have made innovative use of Infocomm technologies or have developed innovative Infocomm products or solutions in Singapore.

Past participants/winners are still eligible to participate but their submission should be different from their previous entries.

Q4. What is the X Factor in this year's NIA?

A4. We are looking specifically at nominations that can contribute to the vision of Smart Nation making full use of technologies to improve quality of life and develop solutions that are sustainable and innovative.

Q5. How many award categories are there?

A5. There are 4 categories,

  • Most Innovative Use of Product/Solution
  • Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology-Public Sector
  • Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology-Private Sector (Open)
  • Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology-Private Sector (SME)

Q6. How many award winners will there be?

A6. We are targeting to have about 3-4 winners in each of the 4 different categories. However, the numbers of award winners may be vary depending on the quality of submissions.


Q1. Can the same company or organisation be nominated for both the "Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology" and "Most Innovative Infocomm Product/Solution" categories? Is there a limit to the number of nominations an organisation can receive for each category?

A1. Yes, an organisation can be nominated for both categories. Each organisation can submit more than one nomination for each category, as long as they are for different projects, products or solutions.

Q2. How can a company or organisation be nominated?

A2. You may nominate a third party company or organisation, or even your own company or organisation. All nominations can be submitted via email to NIA_Secretariat@imda.gov.sg.

Q3. When can one start to submit nominations?

A3. The nominations was closed on 22 July 2016.

Q4. What happens after a nomination is submitted?

A4. Following the submission of the nomination form, an expert team will evaluate the entries. Shortlisted nominees will receive a second NIA document via email to provide further details on their project, the impact and any other relevant information.

Thereafter, entries will be further evaluated, and winners will be informed of an impending site visit to their companies/organisations.

Judging, Evaluation & Awards

Q1. What criteria are considered during the evaluation?

A1. Nominations will be evaluated on the following: innovativeness, technology, ease of implementation and value/business impact. For the "Most Innovative Infocomm Product/Solution" category, market presence and potential will also be factored in. Both categories will require nominations to state how the product and solution or the use of the technology will contribute to our Smart Nation vision.

Q2. When will the Awards be presented?

A2. The Awards has been presented on the evening of 2 November 2016.

Q3. Can companies/organisations who have not submitted any nominations go for the Awards?

A3. Yes, companies/organisations are welcome to attend even if they have not submitted any nominations for NIA2016.