The Awards

National Infocomm Awards

Jointly organised by the former Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA), now Infocomm Media Development Authority of Singapore (IMDA) and the Singapore infocomm Technology Federation (SiTF), the National Infocomm Awards (NIA) is Singapore's highest accolade for infocomm innovation. This biennial series of national–level awards began in 2002. It seeks to recognise organisations and companies in Singapore which have exemplified the spirit of innovation, in their development of new infocomm products and services, or their use of infocomm technology to achieve excellence.

As Singapore gears towards a Smart Nation, a key component of the Smart Nation vision is to build Singapore tech companies, tech talent, infrastructure and sector capabilities. Hence, businesses will have greater opportunities to innovate and create new products and solutions to realize this vision, and make lives better as a result.

The Infocomm Awards comprise two categories, namely "Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology (Public Sector / Private Sector – Open / Private Sector – SME)", and "Most Innovative Infocomm Product/Solution". Through these categories, we hope to provide recognition to both user organisations as well as the infocomm industry that have excelled in the above areas with an emphasis on contribution towards the Smart Nation vision.

Award Category

  Award Category
What Is It?
 (A)Most Innovative Infocomm Product/SolutionThis category recognises Singapore-registered organisations and companies which have developed innovative infocomm product or solution.
 (B)Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology
  • Public Sector
  • Private Sector (Open)
  • Private Sector (SME)
These sub-categories recognise the innovative use of infocomm technology among public and private sector organisations in Singapore, including small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

The award is given to organisations and companies which have effectively harnessed innovative infocomm technology, geared towards Smart Nation initiatives and reaped significant improvements in productivity or competitiveness as a result.

Judging Criteria

The nominees are judged primarily on their innovativeness in the use of infocomm technology or the innovative development of an infocomm product/solution.

For the "Most Innovative Use of Infocomm Technology" in the public and private sectors, the judges are looking to see how public organisations and private companies have deployed technology to enhance productivity and profitability. Another key criterion is the pioneering/innovative aspects involved in the project – for instance, whether this is the first time the system is being implemented in a particular industry in Singapore. Other criteria such as type of technology used and ease of implementation are also considered.

In the category for "Most Innovative Infocomm Product/Solution", entries are evaluated based on the product's innovativeness, use of emerging/advanced technology, ease of use, market presence and business impact.

A Nominator may nominate his or her own organisation, or another company for the award. The Nominee should be a Singapore-registered company.

For nominees of the "Most Innovative Infocomm Product/Solution" award, a significant proportion of the development/integration process has to be done in Singapore.

2016 NIA awards was supported by:

Astar  cocoon capital edb singapore hope technik IE singapore iglobe partners 

Infocoom investments microsoft MOF NUS

PWCSAS Smart nation stream global sutd telstra