Rate Our Information

Was this Information useful?

ICT Standards and Frameworks

last updated 15 March 2019

Standards play an important and integral part in facilitating the development and adoption of new technologies. IMDA works with various industry partners and standards organisations here and overseas to make standards a part of Singapore's ICT eco-system.

Infocomm standards in Singapore are developed on a consensus basis and are the results of the collaborative efforts amongst the government agencies, tertiary institutions, professional bodies and the infocomm industry. The IMDA Standards Team plays a key role in fostering and facilitating the industry's participation in local and international ICT standards forums. It is the Secretariat to the IT Standards Committee (ITSC), one of the 11 Standards Committee under the National Standards Council appointed by SPRING Singapore.

ITSC provides a neutral and open platform for interested industry and government parties to come together to agree on technical standards. The ITSC Council comprises a Council with representatives from associations, academia, research institutes and government agencies such as ASME, DSTA, ISS, I2R, SCS, SiTF, ITMA, NUS, NTU, RP, SMU, SP, SPRING Singapore and IMDA, which charts the directions and policies. 

In addition, the appointed Technical Committees and Working Groups comprising technical experts from the industry, academia and research institutes, develop and promote national infocomm standards, and participate in international infocomm standardisation activities. These standardisation activities are carried out by volunteers.

Related Information

  • ICT Standardisation

    The IT Standards Committee (ITSC) is an industry-led effort supported by Enterprise Singapore and IMDA, chartered to drive and lead infocomm standardisation activities in Singapore and represent Singapore in the international standardisation forum of ISO/IEC JTC1 on Information Technology.Read more
  • Specification for Contactless e-Purse Application (CEPAS)

    CEPAS, the Specification for Contactless e-Purse Application, is a significant milestone for micro-payments in Singapore. It is the result of a collaboration spearheaded by IMDA, working closely with the Land Transport Authority and the industry to develop a cashless nation-wide e-payment platform. CEPAS was gazetted as SS 518 by SPRING Singapore in January 2006.Read more
  • Green Data Centre Standard

    To reduce energy consumption and operating costs of data centres and enhance their competitiveness, IMDA partnered with other government agencies and the industry to develop a Singapore Standard for Green Data Centres under the IT Standards Committee. The Standard provides organisations with a framework as well as a logical and consistent methodology to achieve continuous improvements in energy efficiency in their data centre facilities.Read more
  • MTCS Certification Scheme

    The Multi-Tier Cloud Security (MTCS) Singapore standard is developed under Information Technology Standards Committee (ITSC) for Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) in Singapore.Read more
  • Multi Tier Cloud Security Certified Cloud Services

    The Multi-Tier Cloud Security (MTCS) Singapore Standard (SS) 584 is the world’s first cloud security standard that covers multiple tiers of cloud security. It can be adopted by Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) to meet different cloud user needs for data sensitivity and business criticality.Read more
  • Cloud Outage Incident Response Guidelines

    The Cloud Outage Incident Response (COIR) Guidelines continues Singapore’s strong commitment to Business Continuity Management and Disaster Recovery (DR) Plans by bringing clarity on how to respond to outages in the cloud.Read more