Rate Our Information

Was this Information useful?

IT Standards and Frameworks

last updated 08 April 2019


ICT standards play an important and integral part in facilitating the development and adoption of new technologies, creating a vibrant and open ecosystem, and ensuring performances and interoperability of systems and devices. IMDA works closely with industry partners, international and regional standards organisations, and other government agencies to develop both Telecommunication and IT standards for Singapore’s adoption.

Infocomm standards in Singapore are developed on a consensus basis and are the results of the collaborative efforts amongst the government agencies, tertiary institutions, professional bodies and the infocomm industry. The IMDA Standards Team plays a key role in fostering and facilitating the industry's participation in local and international ICT standards forums, including its Secretariat role to the IT Standards Committee (ITSC), helping to helm Singapore’s IT standards development effort. 

Related Information

  • IT Standardisation

    The IT Standards Committee (ITSC) is an industry-led effort supported by IMDA and Enterprise Singapore, chartered to drive and lead infocomm standardisation activities in Singapore and represent Singapore in the international standardisation forum of ISO/IEC JTC1 on Information Technology.Read more
  • Specification for Contactless e-Purse Application (CEPAS)

    The publication of CEPAS standard is a significant milestone for micro-payments in Singapore. It is the result of a collaboration spearheaded by IMDA, working closely with the Land Transport Authority and the industry, to develop a cashless nation-wide e-payment platform. CEPAS was gazetted as Singapore Standard SS 518 by former SPRING Singapore (now known as Enterprise Singapore) in January 2006, and has since been in used in Singapore, including for public transport cashless payment.Read more
  • Multi-Tier Cloud Security (MTCS) Certification Scheme

    The MTCS Singapore standard is developed under the ITSC for Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) in Singapore. CSPs can participate through the certification scheme provided.Read more
  • MTCS Certified Cloud Services

    MTCS are adopted by many Cloud Service Providers (CSPs) to meet different cloud user needs for data sensitivity and business criticality. Lists of the certified CSPs and their services are provided.Read more
  • Cloud Outage Incident Response Guidelines

    The Cloud Outage Incident Response (COIR) Guidelines continues Singapore’s strong commitment to Business Continuity Management and Disaster Recovery (DR) Plans by bringing clarity on how to respond to outages in the cloud.Read more
  • Green Data Centre Standard

    To reduce energy consumption and operating costs of data centres and enhance their competitiveness, IMDA partnered with other government agencies and the industry to develop a Singapore Standard for Green Data Centres under the ITSC. The Standard provides organisations with a framework as well as a logical and consistent methodology to achieve continuous improvements in energy efficiency in their data centre facilities.Read more