Classification brings more choices

Dated: 31 May 2004

From 1 July 2004, the public can look forward to more video choices with the implementation of video classification. Videos will be classified G (General), PG (Parental Guidance), NC16 (No Children under 16), and M18 (Mature 18 - for persons aged 18 and above). Currently, videos are classified up to the PG standards.

Video classification is a recommendation of the Censorship Review Committee 2003 to allow a wider choice for consumers and access to videos in their original content.

To alert the public and help them make informed choices, consumer advice is required for selected PG videos, and all videos rated NC16 and M18. This is in addition to the rating indicated on the video jacket.

The Media Development Authority (MDA) met with the video industry players, and informed them of the date of implementation. They were also briefed on the operational details of the classification system. Video distributors have to apply for a licence to import, make and distribute restricted videos.

As video classification is a new system, the MDA will work with the distributors to enforce the age restriction, and ensure that the young do not gain access to restricted videos in video outlets. To avoid the young from being exposed to unsuitable content, video outlets will not be allowed to screen restricted videos whose publicity materials will be of a standard acceptable to the public.

Media Contact:

Ms Wang Chee Yann
Senior Manager, Corporate &Marketing Communications
The Media Development Authority