Be aware of scammers impersonating as IMDA officers and report any suspicious calls to the police. Please note that IMDA officers will never call you nor request for your personal information. For scam-related advice, please call the Anti-Scam helpline at 1800-722-6688 or go to

Seven New Members Appointed To The MDA Board

Dated: 13 January 2005

Seven new members have been appointed to the board of the Media Development Authority of Singapore (MDA).

The seven newcomers comprise individuals from both the public as well as private sectors, and together with the 10 other re-appointed members, will help guide and set directions for the MDA in its quest to transform Singapore into a global media city.

Appointed by the Minister of Information, Communications and the Arts to two-year terms, the newcomers represent the publishing, marketing and communications, technology, infocomm as well as the business consulting industries. They are:

Mr Chan Yeng Kit
Chief Executive Officer, Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore

Mr Davison Peter John
Director (Asia), Cambridge University Press

Mr Jonathan Hallett
Publishing Director (TV and Entertainment Group), Reed Business Information Asia

Prof Lawrence Wong
Executive Director, Institute of Infocomm Research

Mr Quek Swee Kuan
Director of Infocomms &Media Cluster, Economic Development Board

Mr Stephen Richard Wyatt
Vice President, Monitor Group

Mr Stephen Yeo Siew Chye
President, Southeast Asia, EDS International (S) Pte Ltd

Additionally, Dr Tan Chin Nam, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts has been re-appointed Chairman of the MDA. Nine other board members have also been re-appointed to fresh two-year terms. They are:

Dr Christopher Chia
Chief Executive Officer, MDA

Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar
Registrar, Department of Cardiology, National University Hospital

Dr Finian Tan
Chairman, Vickers Advisory Partners Pte Ltd

Mr Frank Brown
President, MTV Asia LDC

BG Jek Kian Yee
Director, Ministry of Defence

Ms Jennie Chua
Chairman &CEO, Raffles International Ltd

Mr K Shanmugam
Senior Counsel, Allen &Gledhill

Mr Phoon Chiong Kit
Managing Director, Golden Harvest Entertainment (Holdings) Ltd

Mr Viswa Sadasivan
Chairman, The Right Angle Group Pte Ltd

The new Board's term of office will end on 31 December 2006. The MDA also thanks the following departing board members, who have contributed invaluable service and guidance to the agency and the media industry during their term. They are:

Mr Andrew Yap
Executive Vice Chairman, Anytime Pte Ltd

Prof Eddie Kuo
Interim Dean, School of Humanities &Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University

Mr Loh Siu Yin
Broadcast Technology and Management Consultant

Mr Tan Chek Ming
Assistant Managing Director, Economic Development Board

Mrs Tan Ching Yee, Second Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education

For more information, please contact:

Felicia Toh
Corporate and Marketing Communications Manager
Communications Division
Fax: 6336 4142 ;
Website :