Rate Our Information

Was this Information useful?

Singapore Broadcasting Authority (SBA) issues Broadcast Licence to SPH Mediaworks

last updated 03 November 2017

Dated: 26 April 2001

The Singapore Broadcasting Authority (SBA) has issued Singapore's second Nationwide Free-To-Air Television Service Licence to SPH MediaWorks on 26 April 2001.

Under the licence, SPH MediaWorks Ltd, will operate two mass interest TV channels known as "Channel U", a mass Mandarin channel, and "TVWorks", a mass English channel, from May.

With the launch of Channel U and TVWorks, TV viewers in Singapore will receive a total of eight local Free-To-Air TV channels. These channels are Channel 5, Channel 8, Central, Suria, Channel News Asia (CNA) and SportsCity by Media Corporation of Singapore (MediaCorp) and Channel U and TV Works by SPH MediaWorks Ltd.