The IT Standards Committee (ITSC) (www.itsc.org.sg) is an industry-led effort supported by IMDA and Enterprise Singapore, chartered to drive and lead infocomm standardisation activities in Singapore and represent Singapore in the international standardisation forum of ISO/IEC JTC1 on Information Technology. It is one of the Standards Committees under the Singapore Standards Council appointed by Enterprise Singapore (ESG), and it comprises more than 300 volunteers from the industry.

ITSC provides a neutral and open platform for interested industry and government parties to come together to agree on technical standards. The ITSC Council comprises a Council with representatives from associations, academia, research institutes and government agencies such as CSA, DSTA, GovTech, NRF, SCS, SGTech, ISOC, ITMA, NUS, SMU, NYP, SP, ESG & IMDA, which charts the directions and policies.

Techinal Comittees

Under the purview of the ITSC, Technical Committees and Working Groups are formed to address different technical areas. These Technical Committees and Working Groups comprising technical experts from the industry, academia and research institutes, develop and promote national infocomm standards, and participate in international infocomm standardisation activities. These standardisation activities are carried out by volunteers.

At present, there are 11 Technical Committees addressing infocomm standards in areas of:

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Blockchain and Distributed Ledger Technologies
  • Cloud Computing Standards
  • eFinancial Services
  • Green IT
  • Health Informatics
  • Identification Technology
  • Internet of Things
  • IT for Senior Adults
  • Multimedia Representation
  • Security and Privacy Standards

These committees form the spectrum of infocomm standards that ITSC monitors and develops. Where possible, ITSC will mirror its Technical Committees after the Technical Committees of ISO and the Sub-Committees of ISO/IEC JTC1 on information technology, which Singapore is a 'participating' member.

Related Link

Last updated on: 26 Aug 2019