Be aware of scammers impersonating as IMDA officers and report any suspicious calls to the police. Please note that IMDA officers will never call you nor request for your personal information. For scam-related advice, please call the Anti-Scam helpline at 1800-722-6688 or go to

Singapore to Further Agreements with APEC Partners

To enable faster access of telecommunications equipment from other APEC1 economies to the Singapore market, the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA) has today announced its readiness to fully implement Phase II of the APEC Telecom Mutual Recognition Arrangement ...

Singapore, 12 December 2001 | For Immediate Release

To enable faster access of telecommunications equipment from other APEC1 economies to the Singapore market, the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA) has today announced its readiness to fully implement Phase II of the APEC Telecom Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA)2. When implemented jointly with other APEC MRA partners, overseas suppliers and manufacturers of telecommunications equipment will be able to have their products tested and certified in their own countries before exporting to Singapore. Phase II MRA is also the last phase of the APEC Telecom MRA for telecommunications equipment.

Currently, IDA has already established Phase I MRA with five APEC economies, namely Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Taiwan and the United States. This arrangement allows for the mutual acceptance of testing of telecommunications equipment. Under the existing Phase I MRA arrangement, local suppliers and manufacturers can send their telecommunications equipment for testing to the Singapore Productivity and Standards Board Testing Centre3, before obtaining approval for sale in the above-mentioned APEC economies.

The new Phase II MRA in Singapore will be implemented with the introduction of an Equipment Registration Scheme. This scheme allows for the registration of certified telecommunications equipment imported into Singapore, by both local and overseas suppliers and manufacturers. Under the scheme, applicants need not submit their telecommunications equipment to IDA for approval. Instead, they can use the Equipment Registration Scheme to register their equipment with IDA for public information and ease of tracking (More information on the Equipment Registration Scheme can be found on the IDA website in the document "IDA Guide for Approval of Telecommunications Equipment").

To register equipment, applicants are only required to submit a copy of the conformity certificate issued by a recognised Certification Body; a nominal fee; and minimal documentation to IDA for database entry on the IDA website at The application form for equipment registration is available from the IDA website, under the section "Policy & Regulation" / "Technical Regulation".

With this announcement, Singapore signals its readiness to enter into further arrangements with APEC partners to implement Phase II MRA.These arrangements will remove the need for our local suppliers and manufacturers of telecommunications equipment to obtain approval in other APEC markets, once the equipment has already been certified or approved by Singapore Certification Bodies that are recognised by our MRA partners. Similarly, IDA will also accept equipment certifications from certification bodies designated by those MRA partners. The full implementation of the APEC Telecom MRA is part of IDA's continual effort in promoting efficient market access for suppliers of telecommunications equipment.


Notes to Editor:

1. Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) was established in 1989 as an informal dialogue group among Asia-Pacific economies. APEC has since become the primary regional vehicle for promoting open trade and practical economic cooperation. Today, APEC has 21 member countries, i.e. Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United States and Vietnam.

2. What is MRA?

- MRA provides mutual recognition of testing results and equipment certification by the importing parties. The testing and certification are undertaken by test laboratories and Certification Bodies of exporting parties, in assessing conformity of equipment to the importing parties' technical regulations.

- An MRA applies to network terminal equipment, and to other equipment that is subject to telecommunications regulation, including wireline and wireless equipment. For such equipment, the MRA covers electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) and electrical safety aspects, as well as purely telecommunications aspects of the conformity assessment requirements

- MRAs, such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation framework for Mutual Recognition Arrangement for Telecommunications Equipment (APEC TEL MRA) are generally implemented in two phases: Phase I Procedures for mutual recognition of testing laboratories and mutual acceptance of Test Reports; and Phase II Procedures for Mutual Recognition of Certification Bodies and mutual acceptance of Equipment Certifications.

3. The Testing Centre is a laboratory in Singapore recognised under the MRA.

About Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore

The Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA) is a dynamic organisation with an integrated perspective to developing, promoting and regulating info-communications in Singapore. In the fast-changing and converging spheres of telecommunications, information and media technologies, IDA will be the catalyst for change and growth in Singapore's evolution into a vibrant global info-communications technology centre. For more information, please visit

For media clarification, please contact:

Ms Jennifer Toh
Manager, Corporate Communication
Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore
Tel: 6211-0508
Fax: 6211-2227