Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRAs) for telecommunications conformity assessment reduces technical barriers to trade in telecommunications equipment by allowing such equipment to be tested in the exporting country and assured acceptance in the importing country with minimal further regulatory action.

There are two phases in the MRA:

  • Phase I: Mutual acceptance of test reports, e.g. equipment tested and approved by overseas MRA partners will not require re-testing in Singapore and vice versa.
  • Phase II: Mutual acceptance of equipment certificates, e.g. equipment certified by overseas MRA partners can enter directly into Singapore market without requiring re-certification and vice versa.

Currently, the telecommunications equipment scope may include network terminal attachment and other equipment subject to telecommunications regulations, including wired and wireless equipment and terrestrial and satellite equipment, which may or may not be connected to a Public Telecommunications Network. For such equipment, the MRA covers electromagnetic compatibility ("EMC"), electrical safety as well as purely telecommunications aspects of the conformity assessment requirements.

The following is a list of IMDA’s existing MRA partners.

Phase I Phase II
Australia India United States
Canada Malaysia Canada
Chinese Taipei United States India
Hong Kong Viet Nam  

Please refer to the Singapore Customs website for information on import, export and transhipment procedures.

Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs)

The following provides information on the scheme for the designation and recognition of testing laboratories and certification bodies for conformity assessment of telecommunication equipment.

Designation and Recognition of Testing Laboratories and Certification Bodies
Scheme for Designating Local Testing Laboratories and Certification Bodies for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunication Equipment (296.38KB)
Scheme for Recognising Foreign Testing Laboratories and Certification Bodies for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunication Equipment (273.36KB)

The following CABs, testing labs and certification bodies, are designated and recognised by IMDA to provide conformity assessment services.

List of Testing Labs Recognised by Singapore
Australia (279.58KB) (Updated - 2 May 2017)
Canada (99.66KB) (Updated - 29 Jan 2021)
Chinese Taipei (90.56KB) (Updated - 28 Apr 2021)
Singapore (91.97KB) (Updated - 17 Nov 2022)
United States of America (176.79KB) (Updated - 17 Nov 2022)
List of Certification Bodies Recognised by Singapore
Singapore (87.43KB) (Updated - 28 Apr 2021)
United States of America (95.33KB) (Updated - 17 Jan 2022)


Recognised Testing Labs and Certification Bodies are local Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs) designated by IMDA or foreign CABs designated and notified to IMDA by MRA partners. For foreign CABs who wish to be included in the above list, please contact the designating authority of the economy concerned for designation and notification to IMDA.

Last updated on: 01 Dec 2022

Explore more